Accessibility Settings

Adjust Font Size

Adjust High Contrast

Reset Settings

header image
A therapist meeting with clients. Discover which professions are required to report multiple types of abuse.

Mandated Reporters play an important role in protecting our population’s most vulnerable members from abuse and neglect. However, which individuals are called upon to fulfill this important duty varies greatly from state to state and depending on the population you’re working with. Some professionals, however, are generally expected to be mandated reporters for all types of abuse. These 7 professions are mandated reporters across multiple states and types of abuse. 7 Professions Who Are Mandated Reporters of Multiple Kinds of Abuse Doctors As those who serve us when we are sick and injured, doctors have a unique opportunity to recognize abuse in many different populations. Almost every state requires doctors to report suspected child abuse and neglect, and doctors are also common reporters of elder abuse. While fewer states have laws surrounding mandated domestic violence reporting compared to requirements for other types of abuse, many do require doctors to report wounds from firearms or grave injuries to local authorities. These requirements can help provide needed aid to victims of intimate partner violence. Nurses Like doctors, nurses are uniquely able to spot and report abuse across multiple age ...

A group of mandated reporters. Find out what a mandated reporter is and what types of abuse they report at

Mandated reporters are people required by law to report suspected or known instances of abuse. In most states, mandated reporters are designated by their profession. But in some states, all adults are considered mandated reporters. Because mandated reporter laws vary by state, understanding who a mandated reporter is can feel confusing. Here is a simple guide to mandated reporters and what types of abuse they are legally required to report. What is a Mandated Reporter? Mandated reporters have an individual duty to report known or suspected abuse or neglect relating to children, elders, or dependent adults. While the term mandated reporter is most often associated with persons who have a responsibility to report suspected child abuse, it can also refer to someone who reports abuse of adults, elderly persons, dependent adults, and adults with disabilities as well. Types of Abuse and Who is Required to Report Child Abuse The Federal Child Abuse Prevention and Treatment Act (CAPTA) requires each State to have provisions or procedures for requiring certain individuals to report known or suspected instances of child abuse and neglect. Approximately 47 States, the District of Columbia, ...

The United States Capital Dome. Discover the legislative history of the Child Abuse Prevention and Treatment Act (CAPTA)

The Child Abuse Prevention and Treatment Act (CAPTA) was first enacted 40 years ago to improve child protective systems. CAPTA provides Federal funding (grants) and guidance to States in support of prevention, assessment, investigation, prosecution, and treatment activities. Since its inception, CAPTA has been amended several times, most recently by the Victims of Child Abuse Act Reauthorization Act of 2018. The History of the Child Abuse Prevention and Treatment Act (CAPTA) The key Federal legislation addressing child abuse and neglect is the Child Abuse Prevention and Treatment Act (CAPTA), originally enacted on January 31, 1974 (P.L. 93-247). This act has been amended several times and was last reauthorized on December 20, 2010, by the CAPTA Reauthorization Act of 2010 (P.L. 111-320). It was amended in 2015, 2016, and 2018, and most recently, certain provisions of the act were amended on January 7, 2019, by the Victims of Child Abuse Act Reauthorization Act of 2018 (P.L. 115-424). CAPTA provides Federal funding and guidance to States in support of prevention, assessment, investigation, prosecution, and treatment activities and also provides grants to public agencies and nonprofit ...

A sad young boy hugs his grandpa. Find out why varying abuse reporting requirements could be leaving children, the elderly, and more at risk for abuse.

In the United States, mandated reporting laws and funding can vary from state to state. Some states receive funding in the millions and have extremely stringent requirements for who needs to report, while other states receive far less funding or have few legislative requirements for reporters. Does this variation in mandated reporting requirements leave the most vulnerable of our population at risk? States Receive Varying Amounts of Federal Funds to Aid in Abuse Prevention Federal grants account for about one-third of total state government funding, and more than half of state government funding for health care and public assistance. Federal grants for preventing and treating abuse generally fall under the “formula categorical grant” category, meaning they are allocated among recipients according to factors specified within the enabling legislation.  Federal legislation such as the Child Abuse Prevention and Treatment Act (CAPTA) and Elder Justice Act (EJA) authorizes grants for state and local governments for reporting, investigation, training, monitoring of casework, provision of social services, and other activities related to the abuse of children and the elderly. CAPTA funds are allocated proportionately among states based on the ...

Become a member

Join now to access exclusive member benefits.
Alternate Text