Accessibility Settings

Adjust Font Size

Adjust High Contrast

Reset Settings

Standards &

inner-header image

Standards & Certification

home marquee

National Training Standards

The Child Abuse Prevention and Treatment Act (CAPTA) is key Federal legislation addressing child abuse and neglect. CAPTA provides Federal funding and guidance to States in support of prevention, assessment, investigation, prosecution, and treatment but does not currently include a Federal standard for mandated reporter training requirements. NAMR supports a Federal standard for training mandated reporters of all types of abuse, from child abuse to elder abuse, intimate partner violence, and more.

National Reporting Standards

Reporting standards and procedures for suspected instances of abuse can vary from state to state. In addition, Federal employees or workers at Federally-owned buildings have their own reporting standards separate from local reporting standards. NAMR is advocating for standardized reporting requirements that make it easy for all mandated reporters to report suspected abuse in all forms, no matter where the abuse occurs.

home marquee
home marquee

National Certifications

In states that require mandated reporter training, a certificate is often issued upon completion. These certificates are often required for business and professional licensing purposes. We are advocates for a national certification program that standardizes the issuing and secure tracking of certificates for mandated reporters.

Become a member

Join now to access exclusive member benefits.
Alternate Text