Accessibility Settings

Adjust Font Size

Adjust High Contrast

Reset Settings

header image
A therapist meeting with clients. Discover which professions are required to report multiple types of abuse.

Mandated Reporters play an important role in protecting our population’s most vulnerable members from abuse and neglect. However, which individuals are called upon to fulfill this important duty varies greatly from state to state and depending on the population you’re working with. Some professionals, however, are generally expected to be mandated reporters for all types of abuse. These 7 professions are mandated reporters across multiple states and types of abuse. 7 Professions Who Are Mandated Reporters of Multiple Kinds of Abuse Doctors As those who serve us when we are sick and injured, doctors have a unique opportunity to recognize abuse in many different populations. Almost every state requires doctors to report suspected child abuse and neglect, and doctors are also common reporters of elder abuse. While fewer states have laws surrounding mandated domestic violence reporting compared to requirements for other types of abuse, many do require doctors to report wounds from firearms or grave injuries to local authorities. These requirements can help provide needed aid to victims of intimate partner violence. Nurses Like doctors, nurses are uniquely able to spot and report abuse across multiple age ...

Become a member

Join now to access exclusive member benefits.
Alternate Text