Accessibility Settings

Adjust Font Size

Adjust High Contrast

Reset Settings

header image
A map of the United States shows Arkansas.

Throughout the United States, certain individuals are required to report suspected abuse of children and adults depending on their profession. The consequences of failing to report can vary depending on where you work, making it important to thoroughly understand mandated reporting requirements in your area.  If you're a professional in Arkansas, make sure you have a thorough understanding of the state’s mandated reporting laws and how they impact your profession. When Was Mandated Reporting of Abuse First Required in Arkansas? The requirement for states to designate certain individuals as mandated reporters of child abuse dates back to the passage of the Federal Child Abuse Prevention and Treatment Act (CAPTA) in 1974. CAPTA requires states to select certain individuals as mandated reporters of suspected incidences of child abuse or neglect.  In Arkansas, the professions that are required to report child abuse are outlined in A.C.A. § 12-18-402, dating back to 2009 with several updates in years since. Similarly, the push to require certain individuals to report elder abuse has long been a subject of national importance. By 1981, 83% of states indicated that they supported ...

Become a member

Join now to access exclusive member benefits.
Alternate Text